Review & Giveaway: Q-Redew Handheld Hair Steamer {CLOSED}

What can I say… I LOVE IT!

After hearing a quite bit of a buzz about this little hair tool, I gotta say, I was intrigued! When I realized that I was being followed by Q-Redew on Instagram, I took the opportunity to reach out to its creator, Heidi.

First Impressions

The steamer arrived rather quickly and right away, I was impressed with the smart packaging. The wand was neatly packed in a sturdy, plastic mold and was accompanied by an instruction manual and a cute welcome card from Heidi herself. I immediately grabbed the steamer to get a feel for it and found it to be lightweight and very comfortable in my hand.

Getting Started

Because I still had Marley Twists in when I received my steamer, it was a few weeks before I actually used it but I read the instructions right away. They were simple: carefully remove the reservoir {the part that reads “Q-Redew” }, fill with water, snap it back in, plug the unit into an outlet and wait a few for the steamer to warm up. And when I say “wait a few”, I mean a few! This thing heats up so quickly it’s not even funny. A little red light just below the reservoir will stop blinking when it’s ready for use. To activate the steam, simply press and hold the trigger underneath.

QRedew2

Using It… YAY!

Not being sure how I would use this vapor wand at first, I was happy to have come across an Instagram post by Trudy of 4c Hair Chick where she said that she uses the Q-Redew as part of her detangling routine, stating that it works “small miracles”. LOL! Big claim. Welp, I thought I’d try using it that way.

We are instructed to use on dry hair so after dividing my hair into sections, I just applied some coconut oil to each one {I felt like I needed something!} before applying steam. I only wish I had recorded my reaction upon one stroke of the steamer on my hair! This thing detangles like a dream… A DREAM! I couldn’t stop saying how much I loved it. My husband found me quite amusing. :-) Read my initial reaction here.

Final Thoughts

So far, I’ve used my Q-Redew on three occasions and it looks like this is gonna be a nice, long relationship! For me, it’s amazing. Period. My hair felt super soft and hydrated. I do own one of the hood steamers but with this, because it’s handheld, you’re able to concentrate the steam where you need it as well as control the amount of steam applied. The prongs make for the ideal detangling “comb” which made the process a breeze. With a $69.95 price point, I think it’s worth every penny. Its convenient design also makes it great for travel. There are a number of ways you can use this steamer so check out the site for use suggestions and reviews from gals of all hair textures.

In light of the season, Q-Redew is offering some awesome deals. But, right now, YOU have a chance to win one of your own {thanks Heidi!}! Just follow the Rafflecopter instructions below.

If you’ve used the Q-Redew Vapor Wand/ Handheld Steamer, tell me what you think of it below.

xoxo

Toia B.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

81 Comments

  1. December 21, 2013    

    Heard great things about this but never tried it before. Ibe never used a streeamer either so this would be a first for me (if i win lol)

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      We shall see! ;-)

  2. December 21, 2013    

    Never hear of the steamer until you posted you had received it. This would be a great experience for my curls.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      I think so too Olivia! Everyone should own one if they can!

  3. Resa J's Gravatar Resa J
    December 21, 2013    

    Well on instagram you said it was AMAZING, I guess you weren’t kidding. I have low porosity hair and I keep hearing steam is a necessary add to my regimen for softer manageable curls…wouldn’t mind a Christmas gift from a Natural hair guru to help me on my journey! ;-)

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Yeah, for low-porosity hair, I think it will benefit you for sure! ;-)

  4. Dee Garrett's Gravatar Dee Garrett
    December 21, 2013    

    I use the green house method for moisture, never a steamer. I’d like to incorporate it in my regiment.

    • December 22, 2013    

      Could you explain the green house method a little more.

      • Dee Garrett's Gravatar Dee Garrett
        December 22, 2013    

        Green house – I apply my spritz or leave in with oils then cover my hair with a plastic bag for 30 minutes, twice a week. Some use product, some do it overnight. ..it varies. I found my technique works for my hair.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      I’ve done the GHE as well Dee. Very effective. But man, this steamer though!!

  5. Katrina p's Gravatar Katrina p
    December 21, 2013    

    Hi thanks for posting ths review. Just encourages me to want to get a q redew steamer. I think my strands would benefit a great deal from the additional moisture. I would love to win one in ur giveaway please enter me. Also follow tobenatural on instagram my ig is tinysensation

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Glad I could help Katrina! It’s SO great for moisture. I think any hair texture can really benefit from this tool!

  6. Thatallqt's Gravatar Thatallqt
    December 21, 2013    

    Great review! I hate i missed the blackfriday sale for qredew! Ive seen so many positive reviews for this steamer!

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Thanks! Well, here’s your chance to get one! ;-) Thanks for entering.

  7. Audrey's Gravatar Audrey
    December 21, 2013    

    I don’t have a steamer. I think that I would love it; especially this product to aid in detangling.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Girl, you will LOVE it! Thanks for visiting the blog and entering! :-)

  8. December 22, 2013    

    Never heard of it, would be cool to see how fast she can dry my hair :)
    Smiles!!!

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Well, this product isn’t for DRYING hair but for adding moisture to the hair to make it softer, manageable and aid in detangling.

  9. kaarin's Gravatar kaarin
    December 22, 2013    

    I get my hair steamed every 2 weeks at the salon but it would be nice to have to use at home btween my appointments.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Yes, it’s also great for rejuvenating styles and re-moisturizing throughout the week so you can definitely make use of it in between salon visits. Thanks for visiting the blog & entering!

  10. December 22, 2013    

    I have a heutiful that I use about once a month that I love.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      I thought I loved my Huetiful… until I met this Q-Redew! LOL. This has proved more effective for me for sure!

  11. December 22, 2013    

    Steaming isn’t a part of my hair regimen, but I’d love to add it in if I could buy a steamer LOL. Right now all I do is wash my hair once a week and do wash n goes everyday

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      I think you would really like what it does for your hair! Since you wear wash n goes often, the Q-Redew can help rejuvenate the hair without you having to do the entire process all over again by adding just the right amount of moisture.

  12. Tomi's Gravatar Tomi
    December 22, 2013    

    This is definitely on my Christmas list!

  13. December 22, 2013    

    Steaming is not a part of my hair care regimen. I would definitely love to add it! Right now I use a conditioning cap!

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      You would love it!

  14. December 22, 2013    

    I have not used a steaming system on my hair however, I am very interested. My hair is in the 4b/c area and if I don’t stretch my hair it is so tangled. You mentioned that detangling was like a dream and that is something I could certainly use. Thank you for sharing your experience.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      You’re very welcome! My hair is super kinky so I have the same tangling issue with my hair and I was amazed at what the Q-Redew did for me. Such a time-saver!

  15. Karissa's Gravatar Karissa
    December 22, 2013    

    I’ve Never Used A Steamer Of Any Kind And This Looks Veery Fab To Me I Would Loove To Try It Out See If I Can DC And Detangle With It For These Winter Months Especially. *FingersCrossedIWin*

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Great tool for winter DCing! Thanks for stopping by and entering! :-)

  16. Christal Jenkins's Gravatar Christal Jenkins
    December 22, 2013    

    The only steaming I do is in the shower, I guess. I don’t usually use a shower cap because my hair loves moisture.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      I rarely wear a shower cap these days for just that reason! My hair feels awesome afterwards. The Q-Redew will not only help with moisture but will detangle and revive old styles. Great tool!

  17. Nia's Gravatar Nia
    December 22, 2013    

    Always wanted to try a streamer my hair can really use it. I hope I win!

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      If you win I think you’re gonna love it! It has so many uses.

  18. December 22, 2013    

    I have never used a steamer on my hair nor do I own one. I think having one would solve some issues I have been having with my hair lately. My hair is prone to single strand knots, dryness, and is not retaining any length due to these minor problems. You sharing your experience is encouraging us ladies to try this system and help us go on through our natural hair journey. Sometimes I want to give up on my hair but you and alongside vloggers or hair bloggers give me the will to go on. I would love to experience this steamer in hopes of turning around my dying and overly dried out hair.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Aww thanks for your kind words Tasha. I’m happy that I can be an inspiration to you! :-) We all have those moments (yes, me included) where our hair doesn’t act right but it’s what we do to recover that counts. Consistency is key! I believe the Q-Redew would really help you whip your hair into shape. Thanks for stopping by!

  19. December 23, 2013    

    I’ve wanted to steam my hair for some time now but haven’t found the means to buy one. I think steaming could definitely help with moisture retention and helps with refreshing hair styles that you don’t want to have to completely restyle. I would love to win the Qredew!!

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      The Q-Redew will definitely assist with all of that! Thanks for visiting my blog and entering! :-)

  20. Shecoya's Gravatar Shecoya
    December 23, 2013    

    I’ve never used a steamer before but always wanted to. This one sounds like a good investment.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      It really is! It’s so effective.

  21. Desiree's Gravatar Desiree
    December 23, 2013    

    I heard great things about this I want to try it out I missed the Black Friday special so hopefully I win this… I’m going to win lol

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      LOL! We’ll see Desiree! Thanks for entering. :-)

  22. Jessalyn's Gravatar Jessalyn
    December 23, 2013    

    I currently use the huetiful steamer but would love to try a handheld steamer so I won’t have to sit in one particular place everytime.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      I totally feel you… that’s one thing I liked about this steamer, that I didn’t particularly have to remain stationary. Love the portability of it.

  23. Jhanelle's Gravatar Jhanelle
    December 25, 2013    

    I steam my hair everytime i wash but i use a hot towel and a plastic bag…burns my ears off but does the trick lol :)

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 25, 2013    

      LOL!!

  24. Sandy Peoples's Gravatar Sandy Peoples
    December 25, 2013    

    Never had steam my hair before. I would like to try as an alternative for the blow dryer. I would like to add to my hair regimen.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Well, steaming is not really an alternative for blow drying. What it does is add moisture to the hair and when you use it along with a deep conditioner, it opens up the hair cuticle to allow the conditioner to go deep into the hair shaft to be more effective in making the hair soft and manageable. :-)

  25. Kim Q. White's Gravatar Kim Q. White
    December 25, 2013    

    I have only steamed my hair in the shower. I would love to try the Q Redew!

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Seems like many of us get that free steam from the shower! :-) What’s great about the Q-Redew is the prongs that help detangle while adding the moisture from the steam. Love it!

  26. Annedrea D's Gravatar Annedrea D
    December 25, 2013    

    I’ve never steamed my hair before but I have always read great things and benefits about the effect of steam on hair.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      It has definitely done wonders for my hair which is super kinky and prone to dryness. Great benefits for all textures!

  27. December 25, 2013    

    I’ve never had a steamer but hear they do wonders fir your hair.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      They sure do!

  28. December 26, 2013    

    I don’t steam because I don’t have a steamer. I would love to try it out though.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Hmmm… well we shall see if Rafflecopter chooses you! :-)

  29. Vee's Gravatar Vee
    December 27, 2013    

    Yes I steam, but my steamer requires me to be a contortionist! Ain’t NOBODY got time fo dat! lol

    Nice giveaway. Thanks Toia :)

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Hahaha! I hear you girl!

  30. Stacey's Gravatar Stacey
    December 27, 2013    

    Never tried a steamer before. Pick me, pick me! Lol! ;-)

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      LOL! *fingers crossed*

  31. December 27, 2013    

    I steam in the shower, but I think this would help me tremendously! Excellent giveaway!

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Oh yes! Shower steaming is a great alternative when you don’t own a steamer.

  32. Atina Jenkins (tean)'s Gravatar Atina Jenkins (tean)
    December 27, 2013    

    Never tried a steamer but I have been eyeing one for months. I never heard of this until I saw your post though! I want to try!

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Yes, this product is relatively new. I think this is the best one for your dollar!

  33. Annk's Gravatar Annk
    December 27, 2013    

    Steaming the traditional way (with a shower cap as I do my chores) is part of my regime. The Q-Redew is definitely on my wish list

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Nice! I used to do the same. I love that this tool does two jobs in one- adding the moisture while detangling. A great time-saver for me!

  34. dvine l's Gravatar dvine l
    December 27, 2013    

    I’ve never used a steamer on my hair before but I will if i win

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      You better! ;-) Thanks for stopping by and entering the contest! Be sure to “follow” the blog for more reviews, giveaways and more!

  35. December 27, 2013    

    I wish I had a steamer so i could steam.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Welp, let’s see if you win. :-)

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Well I hope you’ve entered to win one! :-)

  36. krystel's Gravatar krystel
    December 27, 2013    

    i wish i had a steamer

  37. December 27, 2013    

    I have used a heutiful steamer before and I LOVED what it did to my hair!! The q-redew has been on my radar for a while… I would love to try it out and see how it affects my hair.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      Cool! I think you’ll love the portability of the Q-Redew.

  38. Senecea's Gravatar Senecea
    December 27, 2013    

    I haven’t made steaming a regular part of my regimen, it’s something that I try to rig every now and then by taking advantage of creating a steamy environment when I shower.

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      December 27, 2013    

      That’s a great way to improvise!

  39. Faye's Gravatar Faye
    December 27, 2013    

    I usually put a hot towel on my head and leave it on for a half and hour and that seems to work

  40. Prettyadriane's Gravatar Prettyadriane
    January 4, 2014    

    How often can you use the steamer weekly?

    • Toia's Gravatar Toia
      January 4, 2014    

      You can use it as often as you need to. It can be used to revive hairstyles, which can be every few days, in addition to aiding in conditioning which may be once a week. Take a look at the links to the site within the post to see the many ways it can be used. :-)

  1. ToBNatural 6K Giveaway Prize #3: Q-Redew | ToBNatural on April 19, 2014 at 2:13 pm
  2. Natural Fashionista: Victoria aka Vic Styles | ToBNatural on August 11, 2014 at 8:03 am
  3. #BlackFriday 2014 | 10 Deals You Don’t Wanna Miss! | ToBNatural on November 28, 2014 at 12:09 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge

HEY BEAUTIFUL! I’m Toia B!

ToBNatural-Profile-DFinney-Headshot-Brooklyn

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Use My Promo Code & Save on Your Favorite Products!

Just Water. Just Minutes. Great Hair.

Get Monthly Updates!

Catch more of my work here…

…and here!

Networks

Archives